Employee Spotlight: Nella Granback

Here's a little bit about a new official member of Elite's Environmental stress testing department, Nella Granback:

Title: Materials Engineer

Year Started at Elite: 2016

Areas of Expertise/Interest: Physics

Education: BS in Engineering Physics, Minor in Spanish Linguistics at University of Illinois-Urbana/Champaign, 2013

Any unique hobbies, talents, skills, experiences, etc.: I make quilts, I collect antique bottles, I was on the Marching Illini Color Guard, and I love to travel. My coolest trip was a business trip to Cape Town South Africa last year, when I took my mom with me.

Proudest moment in life so far: Adopting my dog Penny. My family never had dogs, so I had to survive by babysitting all my friends’ dogs whenever they went on vacation. Now I have this weird little dog all to myself! She follows me around and stares at me nonstop, so I think she likes me.

What would you consider to be your passion outside of work? How did you get started in it? Any advice for anyone looking to try this activity? 

Quilting, and making things in general. I’ve had to learn that I can’t expect to be perfect right away. My first quilts were far from perfect, but that’s okay. They’re not hanging in an art gallery, they’re keeping my feet warm. 

How did you get involved with EMC/ENV testing?

I’ve always been interested in how things work, which is why I studied physics, and why I genuinely love assembling Ikea furniture. I knew about Elite because of Steve Laya, who is my best friend’s dad. My brother was an Elite intern when he was in college, and then I followed a few years later.

Why did you choose to work at Elite?

I was looking for a new job that would be more hands on and interesting. I remember the lab being very exciting as an intern, so of course Elite was on my mind. It’s a big, well established company, yet it still retains the feel of a small family company.

What is something that customers/colleagues might find surprising about you?

People are always surprised that I have a pet snake. Her name is Basil, she is a ball python, 3 years old and 4ft long (and still growing). In high school I also had a corn snake named Tater Tot.   

If you had a personal motto, what would it be?

“I love smiling, smiling’s my favorite”

 If you could be paid in something other than money, what would you choose?

M&Ms and warm socks.